The Utah Medicaid coverage for the Nursing home or other long term benefits cover for those costs along with the normal medical costs. The long term nursing care is quite expensive and so it is provided to those who are financially lagging.
The earnings of the patient must be less than the amount charge by the nursing home to a private patient. If that is the case, the person may be considered for the coverage of the long term nursing care.
Every single source of income is considered before ensuring the eligibility except a few things to be put aside by the Federal law. In case the income of the applicant is higher, the medical costs of the person are considered as liabilities to evaluate the limit. The income of the spouse is put aside for the evaluation.
The premiums paid for the Medical insurance along with the amounts spent in the nursing home are acceptable. The period of stay also plays a role in deciding the deductions. Partly, the earnings may be shared with the unemployed spouse for the living expenses (there is a max and min limit revised annually).
The amount allowed to be in the possession of the patient is just $45. All the remaining amount is to be paid to the Medicaid as they serve him for long term in all aspects in return.
The maximum property value allowed for a nursing home member is $2000. For those who have a non working spouse the value may be divided equally with them to figure out the amount. All the properties with the spouse and the client are considered as joint to evaluate the properties. Burial sites and funeral plan amounts are not considered.
All the property transactions made by the spouse and the person within a period of 60 months from the day of application and the transactions made by the very person after gaining the coverage are considered in deciding the eligibility.
The amounts spent on the person may be recovered by the government from his assets after the death in case the person is above the age of 55 and also if the person has got no disabled/blind child of any age or any dependent below the age of 21. Details may be had from the given site: Utah Medicaid Program
A 90-day-coverage is provided by the Medicaid before the submission of form 10 (which decides the necessity of the Nursing home coverage) by the health care center. All other assistance care charges may be claimed for coverage right from three months before the start of applying for the Medicaid.
Upon receiving Medicaid coverage with some other coverage earlier, the previous healthcare provider may accept to provide coverage by having payments from Medicaid by seeking the Medicaid identification number of the patient. At some other point in time, the provider may reject to cover in case the candidate is declared ineligible for Medicaid by the state.